Production Company:
Avalon Television

Commissioning Broadcaster:


Series Breakdown:
S1 6 x 30
S2 8 x 30
S3 8 x 30
S4 6 x 30
S5 6 x 30
S6 8 x 30
S7 9 x 30 plus 2 x 45 (1 x 45 concluding episode, 1 x 45 Xmas special) and 1 x 30 bloopers reel
1 x 45 stand alone Xmas special
S8 7 x 30 plus 1 x 45 Xmas special
S9 7 x 30
S10 7 x 30 plus 1 x 30 Live episode plus 2 x specials

LEE MACK’s multi-award winning hit BBC One sitcom Not Going Out is the longest running comedy currently on British TV. Series 9 premiered in 2018 to over 4.7 million consolidated viewers (21% audience share), which was 15% up on the slot average. A tenth series is currently in production.

In the ninth series, we rejoin Lee (LEE MACK) and Lucy (SALLY BRETTON) living in the anarchy of a packed family house with kids Charlie and twin siblings, Benji and Molly. As if the children weren’t enough to keep the couple crashing from one near-disaster to the next, factor in feckless father, Frank (BOBBY BALL), close friends in the form of the world weary, or more specifically wife-weary, Toby (HUGH DENNIS) and uptight ice-queen Anna (ABIGAIL CRUTTENDEN). At least Lucy’s more dependable parents are on hand, but we know what Geoffrey (GEOFFREY WHITEHEAD) and Wendy (DEBORAH GRANT) make of their daughter’s life choices, and more specifically her wisecracking husband.

Cast from previous series also includes TIM VINE, and MIRANDA HART.



To view videos please contact for a password.

Proving ever popular, Not Going Out’s average audience numbers have increased 55% since the series’ inception.

“No-one could ever fault this excellent series’ ability to deliver gags the way that Roger Federer serves up aces”
Daily Mirror

“Stay in and watch it”
The Sunday Times, Culture

“The is one of the most gag-rich comedies on the box and… the quality of the writing has not waned a jot.”
Sunday Express


2008 Royal Television Society Craft & Awards (Best Lighting, Photography & Camera – Lighting for Multicamera – Martin Kempton)
2007 Royal Television Society Awards (Breakthrough Award – Behind the Screen – Lee Mack and Andrew Collins)
2007 Rose D’Or Awards (Best Sitcom)